Updated: Oct 26, 2022
By: Ashley E. Rundell, Esquire, Associate Attorney, Fiffik Law Group, P.C.
In Pennsylvania, if you have been arrested and charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (“DUI”), it can have significant consequences.
If you are convicted of a DUI, you face suspension of your driver’s license, substantial fines, and possible jailtime. The costs associated with a DUI conviction vary substantially based on a wide variety of factors, including blood alcohol content (“BAC”), number of previous DUI offenses, and the severity of any injuries or other damages.
Of the approximately 50,000 people arrested with DUI-related crimes in Pennsylvania each year, many will find themselves in big trouble with the court. The Pennsylvania Crimes Code allows for significant penalties for convictions in DUI cases, ranging from a simple $300 fine with brief probation up to five years in jail, with a $10,000 fine and 18-months suspension of your driver’s license.
DUI Penalties in Pennsylvania:
(BAC 0.08% to 0.099%)
(BAC 0.10% to 0.159%)
(0.16%+ or Controlled Substance)
3rd Offense (and subsequent offenses):
4th Offense (and all subsequent offenses):
In most instances, retaining an attorney can greatly reduce the possible consequences that follow a DUI-related arrest or even to avoid a conviction altogether. By hiring an experienced attorney with Fiffik Law Group, P.C., you will have an effective advocate every step of the way after being charged with a DUI.