Uninsured Drivers – Legal Consequences
Drivers must purchase and maintain car insurance in order to legally drive in Pennsylvania. Under Pennsylvania law, this is called maintaining “financial responsibility” on your vehicles. A lapse in insurance coverage may result in the suspension of your vehicle registration privilege for three months, unless the lapse of insurance was for a period of less than 31 days and the owner or registrant proves to the Department of Transportation (PennDOT) that the vehicle was not operated during this short lapse in coverage.
If you are stopped for a moving violation and it is determined that you are operating your vehicle without insurance, you could face the following penalties and expenses:
- A minimum of $300 fine for driving uninsured
- A three-month suspension of your driver’s license. If you think someone can use your car to drive you to where you need to go, that’s not the case.
- A three-month suspension of your vehicle registration. In addition, your vehicle may not be driven by anyone while the registration is suspended. So your car will be of no use to anyone else in your household. That means that no one can use your car to drive you to work or on any errands.
- Your car’s license plate, registration sticker and driver’s license must be surrendered to PennDOT in order to serve the suspension
- Restoration fees to restore your vehicle registration
- Restoration fees to restore your driver’s license
- You must provide proof of insurance to restore your vehicle registration and driving privileges
- Vehicle impoundment
If you’ve been cited for operating a vehicle without required insurance, you should contest the citation and seek legal help. Our attorneys are experienced in handling many traffic and moving violations. We can help you avoid the serious financial consequences of diving without insurance.